



PRESS RELEASE 8 August 2011

Three Physicists Awarded the ICTP Dirac Medal 2011

(Trieste, Italy) On the occasion of the birthday of P.A.M. Dirac, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) takes pleasure in announcing that the 2011 Dirac Medal and Prize will be awarded to

Professor **Edouard Brézin** École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France

Professor **John Cardy** University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Professor **Alexander Zamolodchikov** Rutgers University, New Jersey, USA

in recognition of their independent pioneering work on field theoretical methods to the study of critical phenomena and phase transitions; in particular for their significant contributions to conformal field theories and integrable systems. Their research and the physical implications of their formal developments have had important consequences in classical and quantum condensed matter systems and in string theory.

Edouard Brézin is a theoretical physicist currently affiliated with the Laboratory for Theoretical Physics (LPT) of the École Normale Supérieure, Université Paris 6. He has made many important contributions to the fields of high energy physics and condensed matter. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and a foreign associate of the United States National Academy of Sciences, and is a member of ICTP's Scientific Council. He has visited ICTP several times as organizer and lecturer of training activities.

John Cardy is a theoretical physicist at the University of Oxford, UK, best known for his work in condensed matter physics and statistical mechanics. In particular, he has a formula named after him that contributes to conformal field theory. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society. He has visited ICTP three times, as a speaker and as organizer of the Conference on Recent developments in Statistical Mechanics and Quantum Field Theory.

Alexander Zamolodchikov, of Rutgers University, USA, has made important contributions to condensed matter physics and string theory. He is co-founder of the Rutgers New High Energy Theory Center. He is a recipient of the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics from the American Institute of Physics. He visited ICTP three times, the most recent as lecturer in the Trieste Conference on Quantum Field Theory and Condensed Matter Physics.

ICTP's Dirac Medal, first awarded in 1985, is given in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the Centre. It is awarded annually on Dirac's birthday, 8 August, to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. The Medallists also receive a prize of US\$ 5,000. The Dirac Medal is not awarded to Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists, or Wolf Foundation Prize winners, although many Dirac Medallists have proceeded to win these prestigious prizes.





For more details about the Medal and past winners, please visit the Dirac Medal web page at http://www.ictp.it/about-ictp/prizes-and-awards/the-dirac-medal.aspx.

---end---

About ICTP:

Based in Trieste, Italy, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics fosters advanced studies and research in physics and mathematics, especially in developing countries. The Centre operates under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, UNESCO and IAEA. Each year about 7000 scientists from around the world visit ICTP for workshops, training and research. For more information, visit the website at http://www.ictp.it.

Media Contact:

Anna Triolo (triolo@ictp.it), ICTP Public Information Office, phone: (+39) 040 2240 564

Public Information Office ICTP Strada Costiera, 11 I-34151 Trieste phone: (+39) 040 2240 603 or 564 pressoffice@ictp.it pio@ictp.it