



) www.iop.org



This Issue | Back Issues | Editorial Staff

People

Faces and Places (page 2)

Bjorken and Callan awarded the Dirac medal for 2004 James Bjorken, professor emeritus of physics at Stanford University, and Curtis Callan, professor of physics at Princeton University, have been awarded the 2004 Dirac medal. They are being honoured for their theoretical investigations in the 1960s and 1970s, which led to the use of deep-inelastic scattering for shedding light on the nature of strong interactions.

Bjorken has been recognized as the first to realize the importance of deep-inelastic scattering and the first to understand the scaling of cross-sections, an insight that ultimately bore his name - the Bjorken scaling of cross-sections. Callan, together with Kurt Symanzik (now deceased), reinvented the perturbative renormalization group (in a form that now bears the name Callan-Symanzik equations) and recognized these groups as measures of scale-invariance anomalies. Callan has applied these techniques to analyses of deep-inelastic scattering and has made substantial contributions to particle physics and, more recently, string theory.

The annual award, which includes \$5000 for each winner, is sponsored by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy, and is given to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics and mathematics. The announcement of the Dirac medal is made on 8 August, the anniversary of the birth of Paul Dirac, who was a close associate of the ICTP.